Best Plant Protein Powder for Muscle Recovery
Five plant powders compared on grams per scoop, amino acid claims, third-party certification and what actually helps the day after a hard session.
The best plant based protein powder for muscle recovery is Vega Protein + Recovery, a 30g-per-serving vanilla blend that carries NSF Certified for Sport testing and a claimed 2 billion CFU probiotic dose in a 1.83 lb tub. Orgain Organic Vegan 30g is the smarter pick if you want an organic label and published EAA and BCAA figures, with 30g of protein in a 2.01 lb tub built around peas, brown rice, mung beans and chia seeds.
Best plant based protein powder for muscle recovery at a glance
| Pick | Protein per serving | Certification | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall Vega Protein + Recovery |
30g claim | NSF Certified for Sport | Check Price |
| Best upgrade Orgain Organic Vegan 30g |
30g claim | USDA Organic claim | Check Price |
| Best minimal setup Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Plant |
24g claim | Gluten-free claim | Check Price |
| Best budget pick Orgain Organic Vegan 21g |
21g claim | USDA Organic claim | Check Price |
| Best for pros Garden of Life Sport Organic |
30g claim | USDA Organic + NSF Certified for Sport | Check Price |
How I screened five plant proteins for recovery
I started with vanilla-flavoured, single-tub plant blends in the same protein category on Amazon and cut the field on three grounds before ranking anything.
- Anything without a published protein figure was out. If the listing did not say how many grams per scoop, it could not be compared to anything else here.
- Anything not marketed for muscle recovery or sport was out. The category has a lot of general wellness powders that make no recovery claim at all.
- Anything with fewer than two live sellers was out so that supply looked stable.
That left the five picks in this guide. Two of them, Vega Protein + Recovery and Garden of Life Sport, are NSF Certified for Sport by the manufacturer's claim. Two, both Orgain tubs, are USDA Organic by the manufacturer's claim. Optimum Nutrition sits in the middle with a simpler blend and no organic or NSF label.
I did not run a taste test, and I have not scooped these into a shaker. What I did do was line up the published specifications and feature claims side by side so the differences that matter for a recovery shake are visible in one place.
What the muscle recovery claim actually means here
Amazon returned these five when the search asked for plant based protein for muscle recovery, but not every listing supports the qualifier equally. Two of the tubs carry explicit recovery language and BCAA figures on the listing. The other three market muscle support in general terms without publishing an amino acid breakdown.
That matters because "muscle recovery" is not a regulated claim. It is a marketing phrase. The evidence you can actually read off a listing is threefold: total protein per serving, published amino acid content, and third-party sport certification. Where a listing gives all three, the recovery claim is at least anchored to something. Where it gives one, you are trusting the brand.
Vega Protein + Recovery and Garden of Life Sport publish the most on all three fronts. Orgain's 30g tub publishes protein and amino acid figures but not sport certification. Optimum Nutrition publishes protein and mentions BCAAs without a specific figure. Orgain's 21g tub publishes protein and confirms all 9 essential amino acids are present, without a gram count.
If you are training hard four or more days a week, the picks that publish more are worth the extra spend. If you are topping up daily protein and lifting twice a week, the gap is smaller than the marketing suggests.
1. Vega Protein + Recovery — Best overall
Vega Protein + Recovery is the best plant based protein powder for muscle recovery here because it pairs a 30g claim per serving with NSF Certified for Sport testing and a published 2 billion CFU probiotic dose.

Best for: lifters who want an NSF Certified for Sport plant blend with published probiotic and protein figures Skip it if: you prefer a strictly organic label
The tub weighs 1.83 lb and yields 20 servings, per the listing. Vega says each serving delivers 30g of plant protein, 2 billion CFU of probiotics and fibre. The NSF Certified for Sport mark is the one third-party test in this set that specifically screens for banned substances, which is why competitive athletes look for it. Garden of Life Sport carries the same certification, but Vega comes in cheaper and gives you one more serving per tub. The recovery angle is baked into the product name and the ingredient sheet, not bolted on after.
Vega sits at the premium end of this set on price but is not the most expensive. The trade-off against the two Orgain tubs is that it does not claim USDA Organic status. If organic sourcing is your first filter, the upgrade pick fits better.
Pros:
- 30g protein per serving claim
- NSF Certified for Sport per the listing
- 2 billion CFU probiotic claim
- Dairy-free and gluten-free per the listing
- Vanilla flavour mixes with water or oat milk
Cons:
- Not labelled USDA Organic
- Only 20 servings per tub, second-lowest here
- Premium price position in this set
2. Orgain Organic Vegan 30g High Protein Powder — Best upgrade
Orgain's 30g tub is the pick if you want organic sourcing and a published amino acid claim in the same scoop, without paying premium prices.

Best for: shoppers who want 30g of organic plant protein with published EAA and BCAA claims Skip it if: you want third-party sport certification on the tub
The 2.01 lb tub is the heaviest of the three 30g options here. Orgain says the blend runs on peas, brown rice, mung beans and chia seeds, with 9g plus of essential amino acids including BCAAs per serving, 4g of prebiotic fibre, and 1g of sugar in a 200-calorie scoop. That amino acid figure is the most specific claim on any listing in this set. The sugar figure is the lowest published here.
What Orgain does not publish is a sport certification. There is no NSF Certified for Sport mark and no banned-substance testing claim. That is the gap against Vega and Garden of Life Sport. For a home lifter or a hobby runner the gap is negligible; for a competitor subject to testing it is the whole ballgame.
Priced at the entry end of the set despite the 30g and organic claims, this is the best-value 30g plant tub in this shortlist. The trade against Vega is certification; the trade against the 21g Orgain is fewer servings for the same money.
Pros:
- 30g plant protein per serving claim
- 9g plus EAA claim including BCAAs
- USDA Organic per the listing
- 4g prebiotic fibre claim per serving
- Entry price position in this set
Cons:
- No third-party sport certification claim
- No probiotic dose published
- Fewer sellers than the Vega pick
3. Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Plant Based Protein — Best minimal setup
Optimum Nutrition's plant version is the pick if you want a straightforward pea, rice and fava blend without probiotics, fibre boosters or organic labelling.

Best for: people who just want a simple pea, rice and fava blend with no added extras Skip it if: you want 30g protein per scoop or a probiotic dose
The 1.63 lb tub gives 20 servings at 24g of protein each, per the listing. That is the lowest protein-per-serving figure among the recovery-marketed picks here, above only the 21g Orgain budget tub. The formula is gluten-free and vegan with 9 essential amino acids and 0g sugar, according to Optimum Nutrition. There is no probiotic claim, no fibre claim and no organic label.
The appeal is what is not there. If your gut does not agree with added inulin or chicory root fibre, and if you would rather add your own fruit and greens in a blender, a simpler tub does less work against you. The trade is that 24g per scoop leaves less headroom if you are trying to hit 30 or 40g of protein in a single shake after training. Two scoops solves it, but doubles the calories and the cost per serve.
Sales rank is the weakest of the five here, so it moves slower than the rest of this set on Amazon.
Pros:
- Simple pea, rice and fava blend
- 24g protein per serving claim
- 0g sugar claim per the listing
- Gluten-free per the listing
- 9 essential amino acids claim
Cons:
- Lowest protein per scoop among recovery-marketed picks here
- No published BCAA gram figure
- Slowest seller of the five here
- No probiotic or organic claim
4. Orgain Organic Vegan 21g Protein Powder — Best budget pick
The 21g Orgain tub is the entry point to organic plant protein for beginners who care more about consistency than gram count per scoop.

Best for: beginners topping up daily protein without paying premium prices Skip it if: you train hard and need closer to 30g per scoop
At 2.03 lb this is the largest tub in the set by weight, and the cheapest of the five. Orgain says the blend uses organic peas, brown rice and chia seeds, with all 9 essential amino acids and 1g of sugar per serving. The formula is USDA Organic, non-GMO, gluten-free, kosher, made without soy, and contains no erythritol.
The catch is in the name. 21g per serving is the lowest here, and there is no published BCAA or glutamine figure on the listing to anchor the recovery angle. That does not make it a bad shake; it makes it a top-up rather than a post-training recovery drink for a hard trainer. For someone eating enough whole-food protein at meals and needing another 20g in a smoothie, this tub is the most sensible pick in the set.
It is the fastest seller of the five here by a wide margin, so restocks and sellers are the most stable. The trade against Vega is protein per scoop and sport certification; the trade against the 30g Orgain is grams of protein for a similar spend.
Pros:
- Cheapest tub in this set
- USDA Organic per the listing
- 1g sugar and no erythritol claim
- All 9 essential amino acids claim
- Largest tub by weight here
Cons:
- Lowest protein per serving in the set at 21g claim
- No BCAA or glutamine figure published
- No sport certification claim
5. Garden of Life Sport Organic Vegan Protein Powder — Best for pros
Garden of Life Sport is the pick when the certification stack matters more than the price, with USDA Organic and NSF Certified for Sport claims on the same tub.

Best for: competitive athletes who need USDA Organic plus NSF Certified for Sport testing Skip it if: you dislike stevia or want more than 19 servings per tub
Garden of Life says the 1.89 lb tub yields about 19 servings with 30g of organic protein per serving from peas, navy beans, lentils and garbanzo beans. The listing publishes the most complete amino acid picture in the set: 5g plus of BCAAs and 5g of glutamine per serving. It also claims 2 billion CFU of clinically studied probiotics, an organic antioxidant blend of tart cherries, apples, turmeric, blueberries and goji berries, and testing for banned substances.
This is the only pick that claims both USDA Organic and NSF Certified for Sport at once, which is the reason it sits at the premium end. It is also the smallest tub by serving count in this set at 19 servings, which is why the per-serving cost lands higher than the Vega equivalent.
The trade-off is straightforward: you pay more per serve and get fewer serves per tub in exchange for a fuller published testing and ingredient story. For a hobby lifter that is overkill. For a drug-tested athlete it is the shortlist.
Pros:
- USDA Organic per the listing
- NSF Certified for Sport per the listing
- 30g organic plant protein per serving claim
- 5g plus BCAAs and 5g glutamine claim
- Probiotic and antioxidant blend claim
Cons:
- Fewest servings per tub here at 19
- Premium price position in this set
- Uses stevia, which some shoppers dislike
Grams per scoop or grams per dollar?
Most plant protein guides compare grams per scoop and call it a day. That is not what decides it. Grams per dollar across a full tub is closer to what actually matters, because you drink a lot of scoops before you finish a container.
Line up the tubs on serving count and protein claim and the picture shifts:
- Vega, 20 servings at 30g = 600g protein per tub claim
- Orgain 30g, servings not stated on the listing; 2.01 lb tub
- Optimum Nutrition, 20 servings at 24g = 480g protein per tub claim
- Orgain 21g, servings not stated on the listing; 2.03 lb tub
- Garden of Life Sport, 19 servings at 30g = 570g protein per tub claim
Two things stand out. First, the 24g Optimum Nutrition tub delivers noticeably less total protein per tub than either 30g option, which erodes what looks like a mid-price advantage. Second, Garden of Life delivers the second-highest total protein claim per tub in this set but sits at the premium end, which is what you pay for the double certification.
If your only goal is protein per dollar, one of the Orgain tubs wins on shelf weight and price position. If your goal is recovery-specific ingredients on a certified tub, Vega does the job.
Is NSF Certified for Sport worth caring about?
Two of the five picks claim NSF Certified for Sport testing: Vega Protein + Recovery and Garden of Life Sport. Neither Orgain tub carries the claim, and neither does Optimum Nutrition.
NSF Certified for Sport is a third-party programme that tests supplements for banned substances and label accuracy. If you compete in a tested sport, coaches routinely require it. If you do not, the certification is still useful shorthand: a brand willing to pay for third-party testing on every batch tends to publish more of its formula openly.
- Compete in a tested sport: treat NSF Certified for Sport as a hard filter. That narrows this set to Vega and Garden of Life Sport.
- Train seriously but not competitively: the certification is a nice-to-have. USDA Organic or a published amino acid profile can matter more.
- Casual daily use: neither certification is worth paying up for. Pick on flavour and total protein per tub.
The two certified picks here also happen to be the two that make the most specific recovery claims on their listings. That is not a coincidence. Brands paying for testing tend to publish more numbers.
What the listings do not tell you
Even after reading five product pages back to back, three things stay invisible:
- Servings per tub for the Orgain pair. Both listings quote the tub weight without a servings count on the fields I can see, so you have to divide the total powder by the serving size on the nutrition panel yourself when the tub arrives.
- Flavour intensity and sweetness. Two of these lean on stevia, and the listings do not tell you how much. If you have a strong aversion, that is a real risk.
- Blender behaviour with plain water. Vega says it blends smoothly in water or oat milk. The other four make no such promise on the fields I have. Plant proteins vary a lot in how well they dissolve without dairy.
None of that is a reason to avoid any pick. It is a reason to buy one tub first before committing to a subscription.
The verdict
For most shoppers, Vega Protein + Recovery is the right default. It publishes 30g of protein per serving, 2 billion CFU of probiotics and NSF Certified for Sport testing, which is the tightest recovery-specific spec sheet in this set, and it comes in cheaper than the other NSF-certified pick.
If you want organic sourcing on the same 30g scoop, Orgain Organic Vegan 30g is the upgrade. It publishes 9g plus of essential amino acids per serving and 4g of prebiotic fibre, and it sits at the entry end of the set on price, which is unusual for a 30g organic tub.
If you compete in a tested sport, Garden of Life Sport wins on certifications alone. It is the only tub that claims USDA Organic and NSF Certified for Sport at once, and it publishes the most complete amino acid picture of the five, at the cost of fewer servings per tub and a premium price position.
The cheapest tub, Orgain's 21g version, is the right answer only if your training is light and you are using the shake to top up daily protein rather than to recover from hard sessions.
FAQ
Is plant based protein powder as good as whey for muscle recovery?
Plant based protein powder can support muscle recovery when the serving delivers enough total protein and a full amino acid profile. Four of the five picks here claim 30g or 24g per serving with all 9 essential amino acids. The practical trade-off is scoop size: plant blends usually need slightly more per serving than whey to match essential amino acid content, especially leucine.
What is the best plant based protein powder for muscle recovery on this list?
The best plant based protein powder for muscle recovery on this list is Vega Protein + Recovery. It publishes 30g of plant protein per serving, 2 billion CFU of probiotics, dairy-free and gluten-free formulation, and NSF Certified for Sport testing. Garden of Life Sport matches the certification and adds USDA Organic status, but comes in at 19 servings per tub against Vega's 20.
Is Vega Protein + Recovery worth the money over Orgain?
Vega Protein + Recovery is worth the money over Orgain's 30g tub only if NSF Certified for Sport testing matters to you. Both claim 30g of plant protein per serving. Vega adds the sport certification and a probiotic dose. Orgain adds a USDA Organic label, a published 9g plus EAA figure and a lower price position. For most casual lifters, Orgain is the better buy.
How many grams of protein per serving do I actually need for recovery?
Grams of protein per serving for recovery depend on body weight and training load, but 20g to 40g in a single post-workout shake is the range most sports nutrition guidance points to. Four of the five picks here fall inside that range at one scoop. The 21g Orgain tub sits at the low end. The 30g options give more headroom without doubling scoops.
Vega vs Garden of Life Sport, which wins for a competitive athlete?
Vega vs Garden of Life Sport comes down to certifications and organic sourcing. Both claim NSF Certified for Sport testing and 30g of plant protein per serving. Garden of Life adds a USDA Organic claim, a specific 5g plus BCAAs and 5g glutamine figure, and a probiotic dose. Vega is cheaper and gives you one more serving per tub. Serious drug-tested athletes usually pay up for Garden of Life.
Buy one tub before you commit to a routine. Plant proteins vary more than whey on texture, sweetness and how they sit in the stomach, and no listing tells you honestly how a given powder behaves in your shaker with your milk of choice. If Vega's vanilla suits you, the NSF Certified for Sport testing, the 30g claim and the probiotic dose make it the easiest default in this set to keep buying. If it does not, one of the Orgain tubs is a low-risk swap on the same shelf, and Garden of Life Sport is there for the days competition testing enters the picture.
Last updated: September 22, 2026. Product availability re-checked.
This page contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.